Mobile CARE and NC Smart Fleet Awards announced at Sustainable Fleet Technology Conference & Expo 2019

Mobile CARE and NC Smart Fleet Awards Recognize Transportation Emission Reduction Efforts in North Carolina

The 13th annual North Carolina Mobile Clean Air Renewable Energy (CARE) awards and the NC Smart Fleet awards were announced as part of the 2019 Sustainable Fleet Technology Conference & Expo held at the Durham Convention Center in Durham, N.C. The Mobile CARE and NC Smart Fleet awards are given by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center (NCCETC).

The Mobile CARE awards recognize transportation emission reduction efforts that are advancing alternative fuel and transportation technology activities in North Carolina. For Mobile CARE, candidates were sought in three main categories: Individual, Policy/Organization, and Fuel/Technology Providers. This year, the judges selected Lisa Poger, North Carolina Electric Transportation Manager for Duke Energy for the Individual Award; Clean Air Carolina for the Organization Award; and Cummins for the Technology Provider Award. 

N.C. Smart Fleet focuses on fleet commitment and accomplishments in reducing petroleum use, thus reducing CO2 emissions and other harmful emissions. North Carolina based fleets (both public and private sector) are recognized by the NCCETC as supporters, leaders or champions based on their sustainability practices.  

The following organizations were recognized at the NC Smart Fleet awards event:

NC Smart Fleet Champions: BuildSense, Inc.; City of Charlotte; City of Durham; City of Greensboro Police Department; City of Raleigh; Greenwood Propane; EPES Transport; NCDOT Rail Division; North Carolina Propane Gas Association; Orange County, NC; Town of Cary; University of North Carolina at Charlotte; and Warren Wilson College.

NC Smart Fleet Leaders: Davidson County; Durham County; Elizabeth City Police; MacLeod Construction; MEDIC Mecklenburg EMS; Pine Shore Energy; and Viatec Incorporated.

NC Smart Fleet Supporters: Accesso Services, LLC; Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College; City of Greensboro; Matthews Police Department; Person County; Town of Apex; and Town of Pineville Police.

Learn more here.