Advisory Council


The Advisory Council advises the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center on fulfilling its mission of advancing a sustainable energy economy by educating, demonstrating and providing support for clean energy technologies, practices, and policies. It serves as a resource for innovative, clean energy technologies through technical assistance, outreach and training. Members of the Advisory Council will have the opportunity to advise the strategic direction and programmatic focus of the Center. The Council is an active board that coordinates private sector involvement in economic development and technology endeavors that tell the clean energy story for this booming sector of North Carolina’s and the nation’s economy.


The membership of the Advisory Council will represent the programmatic focus of the Center, including representatives from the solar, wind, bioenergy, advanced transportation, smart grid, industrial efficiency and green buildings industries, as well businesses that support the energy industry.

The Advisory Council will meet quarterly to provide feedback and help set priorities and goals for the Center. Membership on the Advisory Council is by invitation only, and each candidate must meet the qualifications and agree to the roles and responsibilities of being a Council member.


Advisory Council Members


Dennis McKinley, ABB, Inc

North America Business Development

Jason Epstein, Baker Renewable Energy

Executive Vice President

Tim Gasper, Brady Energy Services

Solutions Engineer

Lee J. Peterson, Esq., CohnReznick, LLP

Senior Manager – Renewable Energy & Tax

Kerry Henderson, G&S Business Communications

Principal & Managing Director

Ralph Thompson, Holocene Energy

President & CEO

John Jessup, N.C. Propane Gas Association

Executive Director

Jaz Tunnell, Piedmont Natural Gas

Senior Manager, Government Relations (NC)

April Montgomery, REAP NC, LLC

Founder & Principal

Maria Kingery, Southern Energy Management

CEO and Co-Founder

Markus Wilhelm, Strata Solar, LLC